Skip to main content

"If you want some accessible but informative insight into football then I suggest you couldn't do better than the Political Economy of Football website, which is not only intelligible but comes with the added bonus of being written by Addicks fan Wyn Grant."
Ben Hayes - Charlton Athletic programme

English Premier League Prize Money | Merit Award | Seasons 2005/06 vs 2007/08


Prize Money is the amount of dosh Premier League Clubs receive based on their final finishing position - it is more usually called the Merit Award and comes from a pool of money derived from the broadcasting income the EPL receives.

With thanks to PEF reader Basil who helped put the 2007/08 season figures together.

Stats Table: 
Finishing Position (Premier League)Prize Money 2007/08Prize Money 2005/06
1£14.4 m£9.7 m
2£13.7 m£9.2 m
3£13.0 m£8.7 m
4£12.2 m£8.2 m
5£11.5 m£7.8 m
6£10.8 m£7.3 m
7£10.1 m£6.8 m
8£9.4 m£6.3 m
9£8.6 m£5.8 m
10£7.9 m£5.4 m
11£7.2 m£4.8 m
12£6.5 m£4.3 m
13£5.8 m£3.9 m
14£5.0 m£3.4 m
15£4.3 m£2.9 m
16£3.6 m£2.4 m
17£2.9 m£1.9 m
18£2.2 m£1.4 m
19£1.4 m£1.0 m
20£0.7 m£0.5 m